wrap up

April Wrap Up

Well to be honest I am glad April is over, it has been such a stressful month. I started my new job and left some wonderful colleagues behind. I had a pretty good reading month though. I managed to read 1 short story collection, 1 comic and 7 novels.

I will attach any reviews that I have done and as usual if you want to find out more about the book then click on the cover to be forwarded to Goodreads.

The Djinn Falls in Love & Other Stories

This an interpretation of different stories that involve Djinn. I found a few of them good but some were confusing or just boring. I rated this 2/5 stars (Review to come)

The Upside of Unrequited

I really enjoyed this book, I haven’t read Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda but I am going to rectify that soon.  I loved the characters and the story line. 4/5 stars The Upside of Unrequited

Zendar: A Tale of Blood and Sand

This was a really great fast read, there is romance, political intrigue and flying ships. I rated this 4/5 stars (Review to come)

He Said/She Said

This book I won on a Goodreads giveaway and enjoyed what I read. It follows Kit and Laura on the aftermath of witnessing a rape. 3.5/5 stars He Said/She Said

The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust Act

I have had this on my shelf for over a year and was really in the mood to read a comic/graphic novel. This was sadly disappointing. I just didn’t really understand it or what the hell was going on. The artwork in this book is to die for. I loved it so much, I took my time admiring the color palette and the way the illustrations were drawn……I wish I could draw *sigh* I rated this 1/5 stars. I will not be reviewing this.

The Breakdown

I really enjoyed this book, it was a gripping psychological thriller and really recommend. I rated this 4.5/5 stars (review to come)

The Lost Honor of Katharina Blum

Even though this book is only 140 pages it took me ages to read it. It started putting me in a slump but I managed to finish it. I am not rating this book as I am not really sure how I feel about it. I feel I ought to think it’s wonderful as it won the Pulitzer prize in 1975 but I just can’t. This book was required reading for my German As level class in college but I obviously interpreted totally different all those years ago as I remembered nothing. (I won’t be reviewing this book)

The Roanoke Girls

After reading Forbidden I didn’t think I would be reading a book with incest for a long time…how wrong was I? Unlike Forbidden I didn’t really enjoy this book that much.I felt it dragged and not a lot happened. I rated this 2.5/5 stars (Review to come)

Fever Dream

I think this book has been  shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. This is a bizaare yet compelling read, It’s only short, very fast paced and somewhat confusing. I rated this 3/5 stars (review to come)

Reviews:

Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Forbidden by Tabitha Sazuma

He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan

Tags:

Harry Potter Tag

I Dare You Tag

Top 10 Tuesday:

Most Unique Books I Have Read

Top 5 Wednesday:

Authors I would like to read more from

Other:

March Book Haul

March Wrap Up

April TBR

April Book Haul

Goodreads: 30/75

Pages Read: 2,402

Best Book: The Breakdown

Best Cover: The Djinn Falls In Love.

What I watched:

First time I have watched this and I have to say that I loved Chunk.

Image result

This was very jumpy and enjoyed it for the most part. This is based on the Enfield Haunting in the UK.

Image result

I loved this, I took the kids to see this but it had me laughing out load and I totally recommend.

Image result

Everybody has been watching this, I have only watched the first 2 episodes (shameful I know) but  I am enjoying it and it’s making me want to read the book again.

So that’s it for April! What have you been upto?Did you have a good reading month?

Thanks for reading

2 thoughts on “April Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

