top 10 2016 · Uncategorized

My Top Reads of 2016

So the end of 2016 is nearing and I have managed to read 82 books this year. I had:

 17🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

27 🌟🌟🌟🌟

25 🌟🌟🌟

9 🌟🌟

4 DNF

So not a bad year reading wise. Some of these books were released in 2016 but the majority of them were released before. This is my top books this year.

This was my latest 5 star read and was a 2016 release. This book was magnificent and highly recommend it. I loved the writing style, the alternating POV’s and the back stories of the minor characters.Nicola Yoon manages to make make insta-love not insta-love.

I loved Ms Marvel. This is probably the best comic that I have read. The characters were so fleshed out, it didn’t jump back and forth or get confusing like other comics. The art style was amazing. This is a great starter comic for people looking to try them out for the first time. In my eyes this did no wrong and need to get my hands on volume 2.

I can imagine that this is going to be on a lot of people lists but for good reason. Sarah J Maas has a great imagination and likes to put a lot of twists and turns into her books which leave you wanting more. Plus the intense relationships in these books has you hooked. She was a new to me author this year and I have thoroughly enjoyed them. This book is bordering on new adult so would suggest for older teens and above.

This was a 4-4.5 🌟🌟🌟🌟 for me but it has really made a lasting impression and I  think about it a lot. This is a new adult Dystopian and really good.

Oh God this book! It made me laugh and it made me cry…it was bloody fantastic. I loved the family dynamics, the banter and that it felt very British. Obviously it covers a very serious topic of paraplegia and rights/welfare. All round amazing.

I wasn’t sure about this book at first. I put it off as I didn’t think it would be something I would like… I was totally wrong. This was awesome. Alternative history,a motorcycle race and a badass female protagonist is what made this book brilliant. I read Iron for Iron this year which is a novella following Luka Lowe and what happened between him and Adele. I will be reading Blood for Blood in 2017.

This has to be my favourite of the year. Another book I wasn’t too sure if I was going to like or not. There are references to 80’s pop, tv and gaming culture that leaves you nostalgic. Great world building and great characters. Looking forward to the movie adaptation.

This was another 2016 release and a new to me author aswell. I can’t believe that this book is based on the biggest maritime disaster  and I had not heard of it before. I really appreciated the different nationalities and that the 4 main characters had very different circumstances.

I was recommended this book and loved it. I loved that it had alternating POV’s but they were from different times. I actually hugged this book after finishing and wanted to read all over again.

  Another comic to go on the list. I loved all the women, they were sassy with incredible sense of humour, they were different race,sexual it and all different shapes. Definitely worth the read.

10 thoughts on “My Top Reads of 2016

Leave a Reply

