FUN · Uncategorized

My Dream Book Panel

images

Today I am going to be sharing with you my dream panel of authors that I would personally like to meet. Eventbrite is the largest self-service ticketing platform in the world that helps people create and find events. You can create any sort of events from charity fundraisers to author conference panels using their conference planning software.  All you have to do is create,promote and host. To find out more about their services just click on the link.

Now I haven’t met any authors… which is very sad I know (cue the violins) but this has really got me thinking if I was to create an event who would I pick? Where would it be? What would I want to discuss? This hasn’t been an easy decision.

The genre of my panel would have to be YA Contemporary, mainly because this is the books I tend to reach for and most of the time they make me so happy. YA contemporary novels are for teens and over, you can read them however old you are but they mostly deal with teenagers and focus on specific challenges in that stage of your life or they can be referred to as coming of age. The topics mostly involve family,friendships, race,diversity etc etc.

Image result for southampton guildhall

Southampton Guildhall is where panel would be held, all bookish events seem to either London or up north so this is for all the Southern readers. This has a big room enough space for a panel and hordes of bookworms.

Image result for sarah crossan

Sarah Crossan:

I would love to meet her. She is the only author that I have read from that writes in verse. I have read ‘One’ and ‘The Weight of Water’ and thoroughly enjoyed them. The topics in these books are so thought-provoking.

Questions:

What was the hardest thing about writing your latest book?

How much research did you conduct?

Books by Sarah Crossan:

One The Weight of Water Apple and RainBreathe (Breathe, #1) Resist (Breathe, #2)

Unpublished:

We Come Apart

Rainbow Rowell

Rainbow Rowell

If I am to be holding a YA contemporary panel then Rainbow has definitely got to be there without a doubt. I have read ‘Fangirl’ and ‘Eleanor and Park’ and loved both of these books.I don’t know if I would be able to ask any questions as I would probably be a bit star struck.

 

What is the best thing about being an author?

What are you currently working on?

 

Books By Rainbow Rowell:

Eleanor & Park Fangirl Landline Carry On Kindred Spirits

Nicola Yoon

 

Nicola Yoon

Yoon is becoming one of my favourite contemporary authors, her two books ‘Everything Everything’ and ‘The sun is also a Star’ are two of my favourite contemporary reads. I loved the diversity and the writing style and the fact she made insta-love not be insta-love is mind blowing. I feel very satisfied after reading her books.

Questions: What is you writing schedule? where do you write?

Books by Nicola Yoon:

Everything, Everything The Sun Is Also a Star

Jandy Nelson

Jandy Nelson

I have only read one book by this author but it was so good that I would love to meet her. I read ‘I’ll give you the sun’ and absolutely loved it. The way she managed to intertwine stories from past and present was pretty impressive.

Questions:

Do you have a favourite author/s? What’s your favourite book? What advise would you give for aspiring authors?

Books by Jandy Nelson:

I'll Give You the Sun The Sky Is Everywhere

Not yet published.

(No cover)Fall Boys and Dizzy in Paradise – 2017

Sara  Barnard

Sara Barnard

Sara is a UK YA author and her debut novel ‘Beautiful Broken Things’ was really good and an honest portrayal of teenage friendships. She also has a new book which is being released on 12th January which I am very excited about.

Questions:

How did you get interested in writing contemporary?Would you try writing another genre? What are you reading at the moment?

Books by Sara Barnard:

Beautiful Broken Things

Not yet published:

A Quiet Kind of Thunder

So my dream panel only consists on 5 but more authors would be more than welcome to come along. But these 5 would be my ultimate picks and there would probably be loads more questions involved.

Who would you have in your dream panel? Would you have a specific genre or loads?

Leave a Reply

