Tags

The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

I have seen this tag doing the rounds and wanted to do it. They are pretty simple questions about the books that I have read in the first half of 2016.

1.Best book you have read so far in 2016

Ready Player One

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – This book was just hands down amazing. I don’t usually pick up this genre but there was a lot of hype surrounding it and for good reason too. You don’t have to be a gamer to follow and understand this book. 5/5 stars Review here

 

2. Best sequel you’ve read in 2016.

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas – This is probably on everyone’s lists. I haven’t managed write my review yet. There was so much character development in this book and sexual tension. I can’t wait to read the next one. 5/5 stars

 

3. New release you haven’t read yet but you want to.

The Unexpected Everything

The unexpected everything by Morgan Matson – I have this book on my shelves I just need to read it!

 

4.Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

Gemina (The Illuminae Files, #2)Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2)

Do I really need to say anything? I cannot wait, I have pre-ordered Chamber of secrets.

5. Biggest disappointment.

Night Film

Night Film by Marisha Pessl – This wasn’t bad, there is just too much hype surrounding this book and when I read it it was just meh! I have yet to write a review for this but I gave it 3/5 stars.

6 Biggest surprise.

The V Girl

The V Girl by Mya Robarts –  This is a dystopia novel set in America and follows Lila. Lila is looking to lose her virginity to someone she trusts rather than brute force. I was really surprised by this book. It had great character development and love interest. I would recommend. 4/5 stars Review here

7. Favourite new Author.

Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J Maas – I have read both books in the Court of Thorns and Roses series and really enjoyed them. Now I just need to read the throne of glass series.

8. Newest fictional crush

Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2)

Nikolai (I think that’s how you spell it)…I wouldn’t say it’s a crush, but I definitely appreciate his character in the book. He is charming and I think…I hope (Fingers crossed) We see more of him in the last book.

9. Newest favourite Character

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)

Rhysand! He is such a great character all round. He is a great leader and male protagonist…. I think he would be my other answer for question 8.

10. Book that made you cry.

Me Before You (Me Before You, #1)

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – This was so sad – even I cried and I have a heart of stone! This was another fantastic read and loved everything about it. 5/5 stars Review here

 

11. Book that made you happy.

Rat Queens, Vol. 1: Sass & Sorcery

Rat Queens Volume 1 Sass and Sorcery –  I loved the wit and sarcasm in this graphic novel it had me laughing a lot.

12. Most beautiful book you’ve bought this year (or received)

Rebel of the Sands (Rebel of the Sands, #1)

 

13. What books do you need to read by the end of the year.

At the start of the year, I asked 12 bloggers to recommend me books that they thought I should read. Book Blogger recommends 2016

This I what I still have to read;

 

The Thief (The Queen's Thief, #1)The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave, #1)The Assassin's Blade (Throne of Glass, #0.1-0.5)

14.Favourite Book community member

All of you book bloggers,I can’t just choose one. You all have such amazing blogs and qualities.

2 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Leave a Reply

