C

Dear Amy by Helen Callaghan

Dear Amy

Author: Helen Callaghan

Publisher: Penguin

Published: 16th June 2016

Genre: Psychological thriller

Source: Netgalley and Publisher

Date read: 3rd July 2016

*I received a copy of this book from Netgalley and the publishers in exchange for an honest review*

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Margot Lewis is the agony aunt for The Cambridge Examiner. Her advice column, Dear Amy, gets all kinds of letters – but none like the one she’s just received: Dear Amy,
I don’t know where I am. I’ve been kidnapped and am being held prisoner by a strange man. I’m afraid he’ll kill me.
Please help me soon,
Bethan Avery

Bethan Avery has been missing for years. This is surely some cruel hoax. But, as more letters arrive, they contain information that was never made public. How is this happening? Answering this question will cost Margot everything .

My Thoughts:

I really enjoy psychological thrillers but  really need to read more, so I thought would read Dear Amy, Helen  Callaghan’s debut novel.  I am sad to say that I didn’t enjoy this book as I found it to be unrealistic and very predictable.

Margot Lewis is a Teacher at St Hilda’s School and since a year ago has been an agony aunt for the Cambridge local paper. She gets all the normal questions: Will I get pregnant off a toilet seat? etc etc. Until one day she receives a letter from Bethan Avery, asking for help and to be rescued from a man who wants to kill her, the only thing is Bethan Avery has been missing since 1998.  In light of a girl from St Hilda’s disappearing 5 weeks ago(Katie Browne) Margot decides to go to the police to report the letters, feeling foolish for wasting police time she tries to get on with her life but soon she receives another letter with more information that only Bethan could know.This catches the eyes of some cold case investigators and Margot gets pulled in realising things are not as they seem.

First off, I felt no connection with the characters in this book whatsoever, Margot Lewis was ok, I didn’t dislike her but there was just nothing there she was you bread and butter (plain) there was no depth to her character…nothing to root for. She is mentally unstable (Not a spoiler)and she is weary of everybody, she is going through a divorce and she is trying to keep her past under wraps from the school, so she has a lot going on in her life at the moment.

The plot of this book was really predictable and I knew pretty much straightaway how it was going to pan out, there was no element of mystery for me whilst reading this book. When it came to the reasoning behind the mystery it seemed really far-fetched, unrealistic and to me it seemed like things weren’t properly explained or just left out completely.

The pacing was slow, the writing was easy to read but the chapters would jump, Katie’s story is told in third person point of view and then it would go back  to Margot in first person point of view. There was also a POV from the kidnapper which I think was the best bit of the book and was quite strong. Sometimes I was just left a little confused/disorientated of whose point of view I was reading from

I didn’t hate this book and had no problem reading the story but there were too many plot holes, the characters were not fleshed out enough and the story line was unrealistic.

I rated this 2 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

