Uncategorized · wrap up

April Wrap Up

60sekuntia Regular

 

This is my second time writing this post as halfway through my PC decides to restart itself and do a massive update and none of what I had written was saved 😦 Anyways! April has finished, the months have just been flying by but I have managed to read some great books and some meh books and actually DNF’d one.  So here are the books I read in the month of April:

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

We have always lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson 3/5 stars  – I have had people tell me to read this and it has great reviews and ratings on Goodreads but for some reason it just didn’t blow me away. I thought it was very slow not much happened and I wasn’t particularly fond of the characters.

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

The school for good and evil by Soman Chainani

I enjoyed this book it was a fun middle grade fantasy and I will be continuing on with the series 3.5/5 stars

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

This book was amazing and recommend anyone to read it. I was a little apprehensive about picking this one up as I was totally convinced about the premise and thought people were over hyping it but it’s totally worth all the hype. I also have the novella to read as well. 5/5 stars

The Yellow Wallpaper and Selected Writings by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

The Yellow Wallpaper and  selected writings by Charlotte Perkins Gilman – 2.5/5 stars – This was another book that I was disappointed with. The yellow wallpaper was a good story but the other selected writings were just meh and I didn’t like the style of the writing. Maybe I am not meant to read classics, maybe my brain is just not ready for it yet.

Seven Brief Lessons on Physics by Carlo Rovelli

Seven Brief Lessons on Physics by Carlo Rovelli – DNF – Even those these lessons were brief it did not mean that they were for beginners which I thought was the case – I really need the idiots guide to physics – for some reason none of this was going in and there were diagrams but there was no explaining what the diagrams were actually showing, so I just gave up. I have to say though this little book is gorgeous.It’s cloth bound  with a gold foiling.

Since You've Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

This was a really fun contemporary read about friendships with romance thrown in to the mix but a really well-developed romance (no insta-love here) I really liked Morgan Matsons writing and will be picking up her other books. 4/5 stars

Paper Girls, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan

Paper Girls by Brian K Vaughan

I wasn’t expecting to like this as much as I did, I liked the artwork and the characters. It’s messed up and I didn’t really know what was going on but I can’t wait for volume 2. 4/5 stars

The Weight of Water by Sarah Crossan

The weight of water by Sarah Crossan 4/5 stars (Review to come) – I really enjoyed this book. After reading One by Crossan I wanted to read more and this was equally as good. This is about a polish girl coming to England and all her worries and problems with fitting in.

When We Collided by Emery Lord

When we collided by Emery Lord 3/5 stars (Review to come) – This was ok, I had a few problems with it. The book follows Vivi and Jonah and they both have different backgrounds and mental illness is both in their lives. That’s all I am going to say until my review.

Top 10 Tuesday

10 YouTuber’s you should follow

Everyone interested in Mental Health should read

10 Books that got a laugh out of me

Bookish Delights

Top 5 Wednesday

Rainy Day Reads

Books you’re intimidated by

 Favourite Mums/maternal figures

Tags

The Wine tag

Disney Book Tag

Miscellaneous

Slump or book hangover?

March Wrap Up

April Book Haul

Currently watching

Who isn’t watching this at the moment – it’s so good.I just can’t stop humming the tune and this is all me and my work colleagues talk about.

I am the last person to join this train –  I am currently on season 2 so no spoilers please but I am loving how badass Walt gets and I literally hate Skyler – she is a bitch!

Currently reading

Les Misérables

Yes this is still happening lol

The Girl in the Red Coat

Smoke Gets in Your Eyes

That’s my month in a nutshell. I hope you all had a great month in whatever you have been doing and let me know if you have read some of the same books or any suggestions.

6 thoughts on “April Wrap Up

  1. OMG that’s sucks! Didn’t the auto save on WordPress work? That has been my saviour so many times!
    I ordered Since You’ve Been Gone and hopefully I enjoy it too! I’ve heard some mixed things about When We Collided so I think I might skip that book.
    Glad you had a great month!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh you need to watch. It’s so good but also brutal and gory. This was the first book that I have read by her and like yourself was that impressed and not sure if I will read any of her other stuff 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

