Uncategorized

Top 10 Tuesday – Every one interested in Mental Health should read

Ten Books Every X Should Read (up to you! Examples: every history nerd, memoir lover, ballet lover, feminist, college student, etc etc.)

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

All you need to do is click on the link which is above – follow the weekly criteria and then link your weekly post back to the broke and the bookish…Easy!

 

So I really had to think about what topic I wanted to post about this week as I didn’t want to repeat myself as I keep putting the same books in the lists. I need to read more books. This list might not make 10 but it will consist of fiction and non fiction books that are either about mental health or some reference to it in them.

Reasons to Stay Alive

Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things

Panther

Into the Fire (Wrecked, #1)

Mosquitoland

The Skeleton Cupboard: Stories from a clinical psychologist

  • The Skeleton Cupboard by Tanya Byron – This is an account of Tanya’s training to become a clinical psychologist and the experiences she encountered.
  • Mosquitoland by David Arnold – This a fictional book of a girl who suffers from a mental illness and a road trip to self discovery.
  • Into the fire by Michele G Miller  – This is also a YA fictional story of a girl who loses her parents and is suffering from grief and turns to self harming.
  • Panther by David Owen – Another YA fiction book that deals with depression and suicide.
  • Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson – This Jenny Lawson’s memoir and struggling with several mental health problems but with a hilarious spin to it.
  • How to stay alive by Matt Haig – This is another memoir about Matt’s struggle with depression and coping mechanisms – this is a good read for anyone that suffers or knows someone with depression.

 

So it wasn’t quite 10 but these are some of the books that I have read that have really stuck with me. Let me know if you have any other mental health suggestions as this is one of my trigger words and love anything related to it.

6 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday – Every one interested in Mental Health should read

  1. I love Jenny Lawson.Have you read her first too? It’s less about mental health but still fantastic.

    Some others I would recommend. Alice Genova has written some great books about brain disorders and mental health, probably her best known is Still Alice which is about a woman with early onset Alzheimers.

    Also The Shock of the Fall is really good about a man with mental difficulties, it’s written by a mental health nurse and comes across as very authentic, although it is fiction.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I want to read jenny law sons first book but I have so many others to read at. I will check out still Alice as I am intrigued. And wasn’t a massive fan of shock of the fall. But I read it when it first came out and weymouth is where I was born so I loved that side of it

      Like

Leave a Reply

