Poetry · T

Haiku Princess by H.O Tanager

Haiku Princess: Poems in Ascending Order of Profanity

Author: H.O Tanager

Publisher: H.O. Tanager Press

Published: 5th September 2015

Genre: Poetry

Source: Netgalley

Date read: 14th March 2016

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Original haiku plus vintage images = Haiku Princess.

Traditional haiku – at least the most interesting of the genre – includes the “volta,” or “turn,” a rhetorical shift or dramatic change in thought or emotion. Pairing modern, slantwise thoughts with Victorian images, Haiku Princess expands on the idea of the “volta” of a poem to include a visual layer… because it just seemed right.

Paired with Victorian illustrations, conveniently ordered from least-to-most profane (as interpreted by the author), and written by a Haiku Deathmatch Champion, these poems have been specially selected not to bore you, and perhaps make you wise.

 

My thoughts:

**I received this via Netgalley and the Publisher in exchange for an honest review**

I really don’t know what I read! The one word that comes to mind is bizarre. Now I am not by any means a person that reads a lot of poetry as there are always deeper meanings and sometimes I don’t think my intelligence stretches that far. However, I wanted to start reading a bit more and this one instantly caught my attention. I have a crude sense of humour and not one to shy away from foul language or sexual references but this just left me flummoxed.

First of all the Victorian artwork  just did not work with the crudeness of the poetry. The title is very accurate and gets ruder and cruder throughout.  The book is split into five sections: Cradle, Maiden, Lady Ku,  Ku of the crone and The Holy one. The cover of the book and the artwork inside is beautiful and would be worth it just for the pictures. It did get several guffaws from me but that’s all. I really wanted to like this but I felt it didn’t really work, was there supposed to be a meaning to the pictures or is it just the authors sense of humour. Writing poems out of 17 syllables  and getting a message across is an amazing feat and applaud Tanager for her efforts as I know I certainly wouldn’t be able to produce anything.

Sniff, dab and wipe. Sniff, dab and wipe. Sniff. I wish they just made nose tampons.

If you are a fan of poetry and not easily offended then I would check this out

Overall I rated this 2.5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

