wrap up

February Wrap up

Well that’s the end of another month! I had a really good reading month but I did DNF two books which I never usually do but I decided I can’t waste my time reading books if I am not enjoying them. So Les Miserables is still on my reading list but I am getting there, I am over 400 pages now which is 30 percent. It will probably take me half the year to read but I can do it and the sense of achievement will be immense.

1. Read a classic
2. Read a book from my Netgalley list
3. Read a library book
4. Read a book that I own
5. Read a graphic novel or comic
6. Read a short story or a collection
7. Read a non-fiction

This month I read:

The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl

The incredible adventures of Cinnamon girl by Melissa Keil

This was such a cute and fun book to read 4 out of 5 stars.

Reasons to Stay Alive

Reasons to stay alive by Matt Haig

This book was amazing a must read for anyone that suffers from depression and anxiety or know anyone that does. 4.5 stars out of 5.

Ready Player One

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

This is absolutely amazing, best book for 2016 and top 10 of all time. 5 stars

The Mistletoe Bride & Other Haunting Tales

The Mistletoe Bride by Kate Mosse

An eerie collection of short stories that will put you on the edge of your seat. 3.5 stars

Thirteen Reasons Why

Thirteen reasons why by Jay Asher

This was a really unique book about suicide and liked the way it was written. I don’t know what took me so long to read this. 4 stars

Saga, Volume 1

Saga Volume 1

I really enjoyed this first volume, it had diverse characters, amazing artwork and cannot wait to get my hands on the second volume. 4 stars

Viper Wine

I had to DNF this book, I just don’t think I was in the right frame of mind when I picked it up, I might try this again but at the moment I have books that are higher priority.

Beautiful Broken Things

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

This was a beautiful story about friendship and growing up. 4 stars

The Fox and the Star

I didn’t review this book as there wasn’t much to say. This a children’s picture book and it has to be one of the most beautiful books that I have handled. The cloth bound cover is gorgeous and so are the illustrations. The paper… well it’s not even paper it’s card! The book is so beautiful that I would just have it for decoration purposes and certainly wouldn’t want a child get their grubby mitts on it, however the story is meh. 3 stars

Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

You have probably seen this book everywhere and for good reasons too. This is a must read and based on real events makes it so much better. 5 stars

Camp Midnight

Camp Midnight by Steven T Seagle

This was an interesting middle grade graphic novel with werewolves and witches. 3 stars

Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel

Another DNF! I read the first book Wolf Hall and didn’t really enjoy itbut someone convinced me that bring up the bodies was better. Nope that person lied! I even tried to listen on audiobook and couldn’t do it.

Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life by Rachel Renée Russell

I read this with my daughter who is 8 but I think she was too young for this still. This book was about a self obsessed girl at school, just a rip off from diary of a wimpy kid. 2 stars

Awards

The book fangirling Blog Award

Top 10 Tuesdays

9th February – Top 10 books that would make great Valentine reads

2nd February – Top 10 Historical settings you love

Top 5 Wednesdays

17th February – Best suggested books you loved

10th February – Books I did not finish

3rd February – Biggest Badasses

Bookhaul

February/birthday bookhaul

Tags

The coffee book tag

Three daily quotes tag

Three daily quotes tag – day 2

Three daily quotes tag – day 3

The bookish alphabet tag

Other

The Danish Girl film review

So there it is my month, I am doing pretty good with my reading and reviewing.

I hope all you had an amazing month and achieved everything that you wanted.

Thanks for dropping by

Louise x

Leave a Reply

