S

Concentr8 by William Sutcliffe

Concentr8

Author : William Sutcliffe

Publisher: Bloomsbury children’s

Published: 27th August 2015

Genre: YA, Mental Health

Date read 31st August 2015

I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

This novel is set in London in a society where Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) is on the rise. Ritalin is a drug that is used to calm children/teens with ADHD, however there is a new wonder drug Concentr8 which has the same desired effects but better and cheaper

The concentr8 program has been abandoned! as a result London is in chaos with riots, looting, and fires.

The novel starts off with 5 teenagers Blaze, Troy, Femi, Lee and Karen, on a whim they to decide to kidnap an employee from the Mayors offices and tie him to a radiator, but they don’t really know why. It just happens.

I hadn’t heard much about this book or the author when I requested it and the synopsis intrigued me or maybe it was the blinding yellow of the book that drew me in (who knows).

I really didn’t like the writing style of this book, every chapter was told by a different person and  because they were so short, I had to go back to remind myself who the narrator was. I have never seen writing like this before either, the words are mashed together,  eg “It’s like all your lifeyou knowwhat’s fantasyand whats solid…” It is like this throughout the book and  I had to make sure what i was reading as could be confusing at times.There are lack of comma’s, full stops and pretty appalling grammar with thick London accents.

So I researched ADHD and some of the symptoms are impulsiveness, little or no sense of danger, excessive talking, unable to concentrate, short attention span and many more. Which does come across in the characters.

This is one of the mental health issues that hasn’t really be discussed in books that much and I was looking forward to it being touched upon. There are also excerpts in every chapter that has been taken from real life  twitter accounts, magazines and other sources regarding Ritalin.

The book is very thought-provoking about ADHD, medications that are used, their side effects and diagnosis.

If you are interested in Mental Health and diverse books then have a look.

I personally didn’t enjoy this book but made myself finish it (DNF is a rarity)

I gave this 1 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

